review rating 5  Great brunch place. I usually get the waffles and mushroom eggs Benedict cause they are delicious. Don't get me wrong they are dishes by themselves but I start off with the Benedict and have the waffles as dessert ūüėÖ

    thumb Adeeb Ibne Amjad
    7/20/2019

    review rating 5  This is a nice place to have brunch. The quality is very good and the price is reasonable. You can find good variety of choices in the menu for different diets. Crew is nice and helpful. I recommend it.

    thumb Amir Takbash
    7/14/2019

    review rating 5  I love this place. Every time I'm in Montreal I eat here. Food and service are amazing and pancakes are to die for. Would recommend!

    thumb Ana Antic
    6/29/2019

    review rating 5  Amazing breakfast place. My colleagues and I go here every friday for lunch and it's great! Food feels like home, amazing service.

    thumb Mayank Babbar
    6/24/2019

    review rating 5  This is my favorite breakfast restaurant in Mont-Royal. They give huge portions, enough to not eat for like 8 hours. Furthermore, it is cost effective. Tables are a bit squished since its a small place. But its all worth it. Im satisfied everytime I go there.

    thumb Eric Payette
    6/15/2019

    review rating 5  I Had a very nice time the food was cheap for what you get like I got this crepe and it was huge but I loved it and I ate it all. It was probably the best food I have ever had. The waiters were very nice and friendly. I recommend it to anyone who loves food or has kids.

    thumb Tara Scribner
    6/15/2019

    review rating 4  Good food at decent prices. If you want a huge meal and bang for your buck go for one of the Festin meals. It gets pretty busy for breakfast-lunch, especially on the weekends, so may be a short wait for a table.

    thumb Anna Sendall-Boyd
    6/15/2019

    review rating 5  I recently spent two months in Montreal and kept going back to this place for brunch despite it being well away from my neighbourhood. The big "festin" brunches were truly amazing. The blueberry pancakes are absolutely delicious. The service is warm and efficient and the prices are good.

    thumb James Dugan
    6/01/2019

    review rating 4  A very extensive breakfast menu. They have everything! Dishes are also quite large and filling. While not particularly imaginative, the food is tasty and enjoyable. Only real downside is that the restaurant is somewhat cramped and uncomfortable.

    thumb Tony Lim
    5/17/2019

      Classic diner with lots of breakfast choices. We had 3 different bennys and an omelette, and all were tasty, with very large portions. Didn't have to eat again til dinner. ¬†Prices seem steep, but most dishes include coffee, which brings it back to reasonable. Service was friendly and fast.

    thumb Cris V.
    8/29/2017

      Want breakfast? That's what you'll get.
    Classic petite dejeuner for under $5 with lots of other breakfast options on the menu.
    No frills, no jam (you have to ask and even then they dole the stuff out like gold, one packet at a time), lots of refills on your coffee.
    They serve late, are quick about it, will probably tease you about your French and bring you a hot simple plate of exactly what you expected.

    The potatoes are quite tasty. Like fries but in the shape of breakfast potatoes.

    Breakfast served until 4pm, Interac and credit cards accepted, you can easily get out of Le Vieux St-Laurent for two under $15.

    thumb Amber M.
    4/05/2009

      Wish we hadn't waited until our last day in Montreal. ¬†I'm partial to breakfast but it's still one of the best meals I had during our trip. ¬†Excellent service...great bottomless coffee and delicious food. ¬†Will definitely be back when in town.

    thumb Megs W.
    12/08/2016

      Another great place to eat in Montreal! ¬†A wide variety of options on the breakfast front (seeing that I was there between the breakfast and lunch hours) and if I am not mistaken, breakfast is served for most of the day, if not all day. ¬†The egg dishes and omelettes come with white or wheat toast, breakfast potatoes, a small fruit cup, and coffee, if you so choose. ¬†I had a basic cheddar omelette with wheat toast and probably the best potatoes ever (not greasy at all!) ¬†They also offer a nice selection of pancakes, crepes, french toast, and any other breakfast dish you could possibly think of. ¬†Friendly waitstaff, excellent food, and great service make it all the more enjoyable. ¬†Plus, the restaurant is so conveniently located in the trendy St. Laurent area along with many other cool shops.

    thumb Dana B.
    8/19/2008

      Mediocre Food. Poor Service.

    The eggs are meh, the pancakes taste synthetic, the fruit is rarely fresh, the beans are mushy, and the potatoes are lackluster to say the least. The condiments containers are also often filthy, with the bottles either greasy or covered in caked-on content.s

    The only reason I eat here is because it is around the corner from my house. If you're on the Plateau looking for a place to brunch, there are several other places you should consider first -- e.g. Bagels Etc., L'Evidence, Universel, and the list goes on.

    They're also prone to messing up orders, whether eating-in or getting take-out.

    In a word, not really worth a stop-in unless you're literally around the corner and too hungover/tired to go any further.

    thumb CT M.
    3/06/2017

      A classic brunch diner type place. Decor is super old school, and it was super busy when I went, so atmosphere was bumping! Seating a bit crowded but it's a cozy, no frills place.

    Menu is expansive, the usual pancakes, eggs Benedict, French toast, omelette type of deal. They give you huge portions! Food is made exactly the way you'd expect it to be. We got the bagel lox platter and the bacon avocado eggs Benedict. The poached eggs and hollandaise sauce was PERFECT.    Best hollandaise I've had by far.

    Service is speedy. They also refill your coffee continuously
    Prices are competitive, you get a lot of food for the price you pay. Would come back!

    thumb Aretha C.
    4/19/2017

      The most classic Main diner style breakfasts and atmosphere. Expect at line if you're there after 10-11am on a Saturday Sunday . Join the hungover students and hipsters as they recount their epic nights over greasy breaky and bottomless coffee. As it should be.

    thumb Steph S.
    7/01/2016

      I got the Eggs Benedict and it was delicious, it also came in a really big portion. I loved the food but the service was a bit bad, the air conditioning was also not working and it was very uncomfortable to eat in the heat. Also there was a egg shell in my dish.

    thumb Samantha T.
    9/01/2018

      What not to love about this, an old gem which has been serving the patrons for quite sometime. Old school diner vibe and some great food. We came here for brunch and there was a line out of the door, we waited for 15 mins before getting to our table.

    Menu is exhaustive, typical american diner fare with few pages of menu nto scroll from. We went with the pancaked, french toast and eggs, everything arrived quickly and food was really good. Service was on par and I'd definitely recommend stopping by here.

    thumb Vineet S.
    9/16/2018

Le Vieux St-Laurent

Breakfast & Brunch Restaurant
Call +1 514-848-0983

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.