review rating 5  My husband and I came for a visit to Montreal from outside of Toronto. We had a scrumptious breakfast 🥞 at Le Vieux St. Laurent yesterday. (Easter Sunday). My husband and I found this restaurant on the internet!!! It was great, we had the works and could substitute the pancakes for crepes, which we loved!!! The latte was just what I needed... best part of all was the service of this magnificent waitress-Maria who was such a pleasure in helping us find the best selection for our Montreal breakfast experience!!! She was prompt, helpful and kind, I felt as though I connected to her in a way that showed we care about life and what this life is really all about, which to me is treating everyone we encounter with love and respect-I know this sounds pretty sentimental but being Easter Weekend and all, ended our stay in Montreal on a wonderful note!!! Thanks 🙏 ❤️🐣🥞

    thumb Leza Kjarsgaard
    4/22/2019

    review rating 5  MTL diamond in the ruff. Not a fancy place but boy does the food ever hit home. A true definition of Montreal flavor. The customer service is on point and the food gets to you quickly and literally everything taste good. Really cant wait to go back with the wifey. It would be surprising since this place has been here for ever, if you have not yet had the chance to try it yet....GO! #comfortfood

    thumb James Wazen
    4/22/2019

    review rating 5  Amazing breakfast, huge portions for a great price with great service. They were able to accommodate 8 of us as we showed up with no reservation.

    thumb Andrew Snajder
    3/28/2019

    review rating 5  My go to breakfast place in the Plateau. This used to be a brunch heavy neighbourhood but the options have thinned over the years. VSL has stuck it out, thankfully. The menu is huge but I’ve never had a bad experience - it’s all good stuff. The staff are amazing. There is a well deserved line up on a Sunday morning so be warned but it’s completely worth the wait !

    thumb Liz Singh
    3/26/2019

    review rating 5  This is and has been my go two spot for years. It's a great local spot, great service, and amazing breakfast potatoes. Also a great variety of mix and match options between sweet and savoury breakfasts.

    thumb Mara Bender
    3/24/2019

    review rating 5  Do you wanna a well served portion for brunch/breakfast? This is the place. The breakfast menu is diverse but the Festin options (a combination of food + coffee) are the best. And you better be hungry otherwise one order is enough for two. The staff is friendly and fast. The prices are affordable compared to the Plateau area.

    thumb Donny
    3/05/2019

    review rating 4  Great place for breakfast with a old decor vibe. Prices are reasonable: portions are generous.

    thumb Charles Tatossian
    2/22/2019

    review rating 5  I need to have brunch every time I visit Montreal. It is my favourite brunch restaurant in Montreal. Gourmet!!!! Delicious!!!! Cheap!!!! If you are a meat lover!!! Then come!!!! Staffs are really really welcoming!!!!

    thumb Wesley In Toronto
    2/19/2019

    review rating 5  Delicious Food , Amazing and Friendly Staff

    thumb Phil Shannon
    2/09/2019

      Came here for breakfast with my friend after looking at some other Yelp reviews.

    Breakfast was Cheap.
    Food was hearty.
    Service was good. (loved the potato slices on the side)
    Food was good.

    Only thing I'd change.... the option of how you want your eggs made for an eggs benedict.

    4.5 stars.

    thumb Chloe T.
    8/17/2016

      Mediocre Food. Poor Service.

    The eggs are meh, the pancakes taste synthetic, the fruit is rarely fresh, the beans are mushy, and the potatoes are lackluster to say the least. The condiments containers are also often filthy, with the bottles either greasy or covered in caked-on content.s

    The only reason I eat here is because it is around the corner from my house. If you're on the Plateau looking for a place to brunch, there are several other places you should consider first -- e.g. Bagels Etc., L'Evidence, Universel, and the list goes on.

    They're also prone to messing up orders, whether eating-in or getting take-out.

    In a word, not really worth a stop-in unless you're literally around the corner and too hungover/tired to go any further.

    thumb CT M.
    3/06/2017

      Pretty much the most average place on The Main, but that plays to its charm. It's got eggs, it's got bacon and in the afternoon, it has sandwiches and some other stuff.

    You get what you pay for, and always leave with a full stomach.

    Fun fact: This is my first time back in two years, and NONE of the staff have changed. Good sign that they're treated well.

    thumb Youri H.
    10/05/2013

      The food was cheap and delicious. The breakfast poutine is a must-try! Our waitress was friendly and attentive. We will be going back there very soon (maybe tomorrow)

    thumb June O.
    1/31/2017

      First time at this restaurant and I loved it! The food was very good and very well presented. They had various options so everyone I was with had no problem choosing a meal. I rated this four stars because we decided to combine checks and our waitress charged us more. I think she just made a mistake because she was pretty busy! But other than that, I would recommend this place for food! It was very great

    thumb Lizzy B.
    8/21/2017

      I have a weird interest in the north american family dining experience. The utilitarianism of the wipe-down surfaces and stainless steel kitchens, the bustling staff who fill up your coffee just like they do in diners in the movies, and most of all, the menu: that 200-page laminated, illustrated novel that contains, without fail, every combination of food known to man.

    Chicken wings? Yeah! Eggs Benedict? Of course! Pizza, tacos, burgers, pie? We have them all!

    This place is one of those, and though I like to tell myself I come here just for quick and easy fuel, the truth is that I love the experience and the food is always good. Do I wish the beans were a bit more generously portioned? Yes. I love beans. But do they make up for it by piling your plate high with every other breakfast food known to man? YOU BET.

    The staff here are so lovely, too - or perhaps it's just the one lady I've had on three occasions who, I'll be honest, I'm a little bit in love with. Not only was she kind and receptive, she even recommended the sharing plate - which is basically two breakfasts for the price of 1.2 breakfasts. WHAT!

    This place isn't going to blow you away with fine dining, but it will take care of that tum rumble in ten thousand lovingly-made ways, and that's just what you need sometimes.

    thumb Kate G.
    5/10/2018

      There are so many options on this menu; it would take forever to try every single item on it. I don't understand how they provide so much selection. Buttermilk pancakes? Baked beans? Omelette? French toast? Eggs benedict? Would you like the Festin number 1 which is unlimited coffee refills, two eggs, two pancakes, three slices of bacon, ham, sausage, baked beans, breakfast potatoes, toast and meat pate? I got it and I was so full I had to take the pancakes home with me. I was full for the whole day and the meal was only $13?!! It's a great deal for the amount of food you get. Not super fancy, but a great casual restaurant to go to after a late night out or a brunch treat for one's self. I probably won't come again since i like to try different brunch places but for it's price point it's a great brunch place to go to.

    thumb Kristie N.
    5/18/2017

      This place has a nice, unassuming feel. It's a cozy diner without any frills. For $6, you can get an egg, sausage, hash browns, that usual choice of "bread," and coffee.

    The food is cheap but good (don't get anything with spinach: I'm looking at you, eggs Benedict), and the best part is that there's never a line. Ever. It's so vexing going to brunch and waiting in line for half an hour or going to a place and deciding it's not worth waiting and then finding another place to go. Not here: they actually put tables in their restaurant instead of couches and bean bags and decorative body dancers.

    It's not something to show off (unless you're showing it off to someone who asked to go to a diner), but it's convenient.

    thumb Gregory C.
    2/10/2015

      Loved this place! Quite possibly the best pancakes I've ever tasted (and I am a pancake snob to the enth degree.) The couple that runs this place is awesome and always very accommodating. Def our fav. spot to go when we are in MTL.

    thumb C D.
    6/05/2017

Le Vieux St-Laurent

Breakfast & Brunch Restaurant
Call +1 514-848-0983

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.