review rating 5  So far this is the most delicious French toast I've ever had in my life.

    thumb 廖詠婕
    3/07/2020

    review rating 4  The food was fantastic! The portions are good for sharing or eating alone if you have a large appetite.

    thumb A E
    2/25/2020

    review rating 5  Wow, best breakfast in town... The servers were friendly and helpful. The food was delicious too! I recommend Restaurant Le Vieux Saint-Laurent.

    thumb Tiana Nguyen
    2/06/2020

    review rating 5  Fantastic food at very reasonable prices. Their menu is very extensive and no doubt has something for everyone. The staff are also very friendly and nice, especially Annie our waitress. We went for breakfast on a weekend trip to Montreal and picked this place randomly but went back the next morning for breakfast again because it was so good. I can't recommend this place enough!

    thumb Amir E
    1/26/2020

    review rating 5  Excellent restaurant. 10/10 would recommend. Simple grandma's food type place.

    thumb Kim Tardy
    12/27/2019

    review rating 4  Good cheap food, friendly staff, good for large groups of friends and family.

    thumb Tim Parsons
    12/25/2019

    review rating 5  Fantastic for lunch/brunch, too! Great Eggs Benedict, waffles, eggs.

    thumb Vincent Surette
    12/16/2019

    review rating 5  The service was excellent always with a smile, I really recommend this place if you want a traditional Canadian breakfast, price is good (around $15 cad)

    thumb Martin Ramses Perez Fierro
    11/17/2019

    review rating 3  First off, the overall experience of our breakfast was great. The staff were really friendly and we were seated much quicker than expected. However, my partners poached eggs had a vinegar taste and my brown beans were cold. Considering the other reviews though, the overall experience and the price of our breakfast, I'd definitely come again.

    thumb Todd Smeed
    10/27/2019

      This place has a nice, unassuming feel. It's a cozy diner without any frills. For $6, you can get an egg, sausage, hash browns, that usual choice of "bread," and coffee.

    The food is cheap but good (don't get anything with spinach: I'm looking at you, eggs Benedict), and the best part is that there's never a line. Ever. It's so vexing going to brunch and waiting in line for half an hour or going to a place and deciding it's not worth waiting and then finding another place to go. Not here: they actually put tables in their restaurant instead of couches and bean bags and decorative body dancers.

    It's not something to show off (unless you're showing it off to someone who asked to go to a diner), but it's convenient.

    thumb Gregory C.
    2/10/2015

      Mediocre Food. Poor Service.

    The eggs are meh, the pancakes taste synthetic, the fruit is rarely fresh, the beans are mushy, and the potatoes are lackluster to say the least. The condiments containers are also often filthy, with the bottles either greasy or covered in caked-on content.s

    The only reason I eat here is because it is around the corner from my house. If you're on the Plateau looking for a place to brunch, there are several other places you should consider first -- e.g. Bagels Etc., L'Evidence, Universel, and the list goes on.

    They're also prone to messing up orders, whether eating-in or getting take-out.

    In a word, not really worth a stop-in unless you're literally around the corner and too hungover/tired to go any further.

    thumb CT M.
    3/06/2017

      Waitress is friendly and attentive, coffee (and refills) are free, and the food is delicious!

    thumb Ray S.
    2/18/2016

      This is a great diner-style brunch spot! After my previous favorite cheap brunch spot closed (Place Milton), I was in search of a replacement, and this place seems to fit the bill. It has a pretty wide menu with all of your classic brunch favorites- I recommend their bagel breakfast sandwiches (and the home fries/potatoes). It's definitely not the best food you've ever tasted, but for the quick service and relatively cheap prices, it's a great spot. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a diner-style brunch.

    thumb Hanna H.
    12/10/2018

      This place has everything. We came for breakfast and there was something for every taste. The Lunch-Dinner menu was also extensive. Glad we found it!

    thumb Jamie K.
    9/05/2015

      Want breakfast? That's what you'll get.
    Classic petite dejeuner for under $5 with lots of other breakfast options on the menu.
    No frills, no jam (you have to ask and even then they dole the stuff out like gold, one packet at a time), lots of refills on your coffee.
    They serve late, are quick about it, will probably tease you about your French and bring you a hot simple plate of exactly what you expected.

    The potatoes are quite tasty. Like fries but in the shape of breakfast potatoes.

    Breakfast served until 4pm, Interac and credit cards accepted, you can easily get out of Le Vieux St-Laurent for two under $15.

    thumb Amber M.
    4/05/2009

      There are so many options on this menu; it would take forever to try every single item on it. I don't understand how they provide so much selection. Buttermilk pancakes? Baked beans? Omelette? French toast? Eggs benedict? Would you like the Festin number 1 which is unlimited coffee refills, two eggs, two pancakes, three slices of bacon, ham, sausage, baked beans, breakfast potatoes, toast and meat pate? I got it and I was so full I had to take the pancakes home with me. I was full for the whole day and the meal was only $13?!! It's a great deal for the amount of food you get. Not super fancy, but a great casual restaurant to go to after a late night out or a brunch treat for one's self. I probably won't come again since i like to try different brunch places but for it's price point it's a great brunch place to go to.

    thumb Kristie N.
    5/18/2017

      A classic brunch diner type place. Decor is super old school, and it was super busy when I went, so atmosphere was bumping! Seating a bit crowded but it's a cozy, no frills place.

    Menu is expansive, the usual pancakes, eggs Benedict, French toast, omelette type of deal. They give you huge portions! Food is made exactly the way you'd expect it to be. We got the bagel lox platter and the bacon avocado eggs Benedict. The poached eggs and hollandaise sauce was PERFECT.    Best hollandaise I've had by far.

    Service is speedy. They also refill your coffee continuously
    Prices are competitive, you get a lot of food for the price you pay. Would come back!

    thumb Aretha C.
    4/19/2017

      We woke up late but still wanted to breakfast.  Not knowing what our options where in terms of "Denny's" and "IHOPs" in Canada, we decided to check this place out.  They serve breakfast until 4pm.   Great place, great options, and we were able to get our pancakes and toast in the afternoon!

    thumb Miguel A.
    9/29/2008

Le Vieux St-Laurent

Breakfast & Brunch Restaurant
Call +1 514-848-0983

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.